2017/02/24 02:04
2016/05/20 20:00
2016/05/21 20:00
1970/01/01 00:00
    May 20 & 21, 2016, 8:00 p.m.SarahChang
    H-E-B Performance Hall at The Tobin Center for the Performing Arts
    Gabriel Feltz, conductor | Sarah Chang, violin

    Tchaikovsky        The Tempest Fantasy-Overture
    Bruch Violin        Concerto No. 1 in G minor
    Rachmaninoff     Symphony No. 1 in D minor

    Violin superstar Sarah Chang made her New York Philharmonic debut at age eight; her performance of Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1 displays why she has been an international audience favorite ever since. Like many great works, Rachmaninoff’s Symphony No. 1 was famously disastrous at its premiere, but was eventually regarded as a genuine masterpiece; its composition was influenced by Tchaikovsky, whose dramatic Shakespearean tone poem The Tempest begins this compelling program.

    For program notes, click HERE.

    The appearance of Ms. Sarah Chang is sponsored by the Russell Hill Rogers Fund for the Arts


    / H-E-B Performance Hall at The Tobin Center