Brahms Piano Concerto No. 2

2017/01/22 08:06
2016/09/30 20:00
2016/10/01 20:00
1970/01/01 00:00

    September 30 & October 1, 2016, 8:00 p.m. Garick-Ohlsson-500-x-360
    H-E-B Performance Hall at The Tobin Center for the Performing Arts
    Sebastian Lang-Lessing, conductor
    Garrick Ohlsson, piano

    Brahms              Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat major
    Mendelssohn    Symphony No. 4, “Italian”
    Rossini              William Tell Overture

    Brahms’ second piano concerto, a work of profound depth and unutterable beauty. Soloist Garrick Ohlsson has established himself worldwide as a musician of magisterial interpretive and technical prowess. His Gold Medal triumph at the International Chopin Competition in Warsaw, where he won the Gold Medal (and remains the only American to have done so), brought him worldwide recognition as one of the finest pianists of his generation. On the second half, Sebastian Lang-Lessing leads the San Antonio Symphony in two beloved masterpieces, the “Italian” Symphony, filled with the sounds and flavors of Mendelssohn’s trip to Italy, and Rossini’s exciting William Tell Overture.

    Click here to see program notes for this concert.

    Celebrated Artist Series, Russell Hill Rogers Fund for the Arts.

    / H-E-B Performance Hall at The Tobin Center